Return to Previous

City Council Elects Leadership for 2022

Huntington City Councilwoman Holly Smith Mount was elected chairwoman and City Councilwoman Sarah Walling was elected vice chairwoman during the Council’s meeting Monday, Jan. 10.

For Mount, it will be her first year as chairwoman of Huntington City Council. The District 6 councilwoman was elected to the governing body in 2020. She served 2021 as City Council’s vice chairwoman. Her district includes the Gallaher Village, Forest Hills and Southeast Hills areas of Huntington.

“It is an honor to be chosen as chairwoman, and I want to thank everyone for their support and vote of confidence,” Mount said. “I look forward to what this year will bring to our great city and I am excited to take on this new role.”

Walling filled the unexpired term of City Council Chairwoman Jennifer Wheeler in June 2021 when Wheeler resigned because she had moved out of District 4. The district encompasses the Southside and Harveytown.

“I appreciate the votes of confidence not only on my appointment but also on serving as vice chairwoman,” Walling said. “Huntington has a bright future, and I look forward to working together toward great results.”

News Home